Serafini & Serafini Professional Corporation
Schedule Your Free Consultation Today 973-968-4732
Se Habla Español

How do trucking regulations aim to prevent drowsy driving?

Drowsy driving is a safety hazard on New Jersey roads, especially when it comes to semi-trucks. After all, in a truck accident between an 80,000-pound semi-truck and a 2,000-pound automobile, the laws of physics generally mean that the automobile and its occupants will come off worse for wear. Because of these dangers, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has issued hours of service regulations that dictate how long a semi-truck driver may be on the road before taking a rest break.

For example, property-carrying drivers can only drive up to 11 hours after having been off-duty for at least 10 hours in a row. In addition, these drivers cannot operate their vehicles more than 14 hours after the 10-hour consecutive rest break. Also, semi-truck drivers can only drive up to eight hours after taking a 30-minute rest break or sleeper berth period.

In addition, property-carrying drivers cannot operate their vehicles after being on duty for 60 hours in seven consecutive days or 70 hours in eight consecutive days. After these time periods have passed, the driver must spend at least 34 hours off duty in a row. Finally, if a semi-truck driver is using the sleeper berth in their vehicle to rest, they must do so for a minimum of eight hours in a row in addition to spending two hours in a row either off-duty, in the berth or any combination of the two.

These regulations are in place to avoid drowsy driving that could lead to a truck accident. Unfortunately, there will always be drivers that ignore these regulations and drive too many hours without taking a rest break. If a fatigued truck driver causes a crash that injures another person, the crash victim may want to determine if they can pursue a personal injury claim. Doing so may provide the victim with the financial resources they need to cope with medical expenses, lost wages and other damages they suffered in the crash.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

New Jersey Certified Civil Trial Attorney

Why Is This Important? Roughly 3% Of Attorneys Achieve This Status.

A certified civil trial attorney is a designation granted by the New Jersey Supreme Court to attorneys who can demonstrate sufficient levels of experience, education, knowledge, and skill in civil trial practice. The Supreme Court, through its Board on Attorney Certification, designates only those lawyers who apply for certification and who are able to meet the standards set by the Board and approved by the Court.

Email Us For A Response

Free Consultations Available - No Attorney’s Fees Unless We Recover Compensation

Our attorneys will personally meet with you to discuss what we can do to help you fight back against the insurance companies. To schedule your free, no-obligation consultation, please call our office at 973-968-4732 or send us an email. We handle personal injury claims on a contingent fee basis, which means there are no attorney's fees unless we successfully obtain compensation on your behalf.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Serafini & Serafini PC
269 Hamburg Turnpike
Wayne, NJ 07470

Phone: 973-968-4732
Fax: 973-595-7442
Wayne Law Office Map